The court may grant a request to attend traffic school for an eligible violation if you meet the following criteria:
- Your citation is for a moving violation of the California Vehicle Code
- You have not attended traffic school within the past 18 months for any other violation.
- If you citation is for speeding, you did not exceed 25 mph over the posted speed limit.
- You were not operating a commercial vehicle at the time of the violation.
- Your citation does not contain a charge that requires a mandatory court appearance.
- You were not cited for alcohol or drugs.
Requesting Traffic School
If you wish to attend traffic school, you must select a school from the California Traffic Safety Institute list of traffic schools by clicking on the link below for Traffic Violator School Provider Search.
If eligible, the bail amount indicated on your citation along with a traffic school fee is required. For information on how to pay in person, by mail, or telephone, click on: Pay a Traffic Ticket
If paying by mail, send one check equal to the bail amount plus a nonrefundable $55 traffic school fee and follow the instructions on your reminder notice. Write “traffic school” and your citation number on the check, which must be received by the due date listed. Traffic schools will charge an additional fee to enroll.
Traffic School Completion
Notice of your traffic school completion will be submitted by the school to the Department of Motor Vehicles and processed by the Court through an electronic database. Please make sure to provide the traffic school with the corresponding court code listed below.
|Joshua Tree District
You must complete the traffic school course timely to allow electronic reporting to be delivered to the Court and processed as a confidential conviction by the completion date. If your traffic school completion is not received timely, the fine will be applied to your citation and reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles as a conviction.
Note: If you are eligible and decide not to attend traffic school your automobile insurance may be adversely affected. One conviction in any 18-month period will be held confidential and not show on your driving record if you complete a traffic violator school program. The 18-month eligibility period for a confidential conviction after completion of Traffic School is determined from violation date to violation date. (Vehicle Code Section 1803.5, 1808.7, 41501, 42005 and 42007). If you are not eligible to attend but do so anyway, the conviction will be reported on your driving record and there will be no refund of any fees paid.